Homepage > Articles

Player of the Year

22 April 2002

The Player of the Year awards, as voted by you, the fans, were awarded before the last home game of the season against Doncaster.

My box brownie hasn't taken the best of pictures (bad workman, tools - I know...) but hopefully my good ol' 'proper film' camera has taken some better pics than the ones below. Anyway, enough of that, the awards were as follows:

Player of the Year - Wayne Purser

The more observant of you will have noticed that this is actually Greg Heald. As Wayne is recovering from his broken (fibula I think?) he couldn't be at the game this evening, so captain Heald accepted his award on his behalf. He's the one on the right, by the way - the other person is BFCSA Chairman, Steve Percy, just in case you didn't know.

The other placings were as follows:

Second Greg Heald
Third Mark Arber
Fourth Lee Harrison
Joint Fifth Lee Flynn
Mark Gower
  Goal of the Year - Mark Gower (against Dagenham)

This was for his goal against Dagenham, a 35 yard scorcher in our 4-0 victory and their first away defeat of the season.

The other placings were as follows:

Second Danny Brown Boston
Third Leon Bell Northwich
Fourth Mark Gower Scarborough
Fifth Wayne Purser Woking
Joint Sixth Robbie Sawyers
Toby Oshitola
Forest Green Rovers
  Most Improved Player of the Year - Lee Gledhill

Not the best of pictures I'm afraid, I took a couple more with my other camera (I was trying to capture the 'moment' - ahem).

Gledhill was voted as the player who has improved most this season.

The other placings were as follows:

Second Wayne Purser
Third Frazer Toms
Joint Fourth Lee Flynn
Mark Gower
Sixth Austin Berkley
  Miscellaneous Picture

A pensive Peter Shreeves looks on while the tannoy geezer realises he's 'caught on film'.


Homepage > Articles > Back To Top