Homepage > About Barnet FC

Players of the Year

  Below is a list of all the Players of the Year, Most Improved Player and Goal of the Season since the 1969/70 season.

Also listed is the Lester Finch Award, which is chosen by the BFCSA committee. Finch played for Barnet from 1928 to 1953, making 476 appearances and scoring 226 goals. Afterwards he served on the BFCSA committee for many years. His widow is a season ticket holder in the main stand.

The award recognises someone who has contributed to Barnet FC in some way, especially - but not necessarily - non-playing staff.

As far as I know the awards did not exist where the years are blank. I am not sure if there was a Player of the Year award before 1969/70. If there is an article on the site about the award then the name is linked to it (some of the links go to the same article, the 0910 links go to an article on the official site).

Season Player of the Year Most Improved Player Goal of the Season Young Player of the Year Lester Finch Award
1969/70 Les Eason        
1970/71 Gorden Ferry        
1971/72 Ben Embery        
1972/73 Gorden Ferry        
1973/74 S.Tom        
1974/75 Jack McClelland        
1975/76 G.Williams        
1976/77 J.Fairbrother        
1977/78 Jimmy Greaves        
1978/79 L.McCormack        
1979/80 Steve Oliver        
1980/81 Steve Brinkman Steve Foody      
1981/82 Gary Phillips Colin Barnes      
1982/83 Colin Barnes Les Harriott      
1983/84 Gary Phillips Steve Mahoney      
1984/85 Peter Brown Andy Goodchild      
1985/86 Steve Humphries and Nicky Evans Barry Little      
1986/87 Steve Humphries Steve Cox      
1987/88 Noel Ashford Andy Lomas      
1988/89 Edwin Stein Richard Nugent      
1989/90 Andrew Clarke Paul Wilson      
1990/91 Gary Bull Richard Nugent      
Season Player of the Year Most Improved Player Goal of the Season Young Player of the Year Lester Finch Award
1991/92 David Howell Mark Carter      
1992/93 Gary Phillips Derek Payne      
1993/94 Alan Walker Carl Hoddle      
1994/95 Dougie Freedman Micky Tomlinson     Colin Payne
1995/96 Maik Taylor Lee Hodges     Paul Wilson
1996/97 Linvoy Primus Lee Harrison     Paul Wilson
1997/98 Lee Harrison Warren Goodhind     Tony Kleanthous
1998/99 Lee Harrison Ken Charlery     John Pollard
1999/2000 Lee Harrison John Doolan     Frank Judge
2000/01 Sam Stockley Sam Stockley     Ron Sturgess
2001/02 Wayne Purser Lee Gledhill Mark Gower   Steve Percy
2002/03 Junior Agogo Lee Pluck Toby Oshitola   Kev Mullen
2003/04 Giuliano Grazioli Ben Strevens Guy Lopez Simon King Janet Matthewson
2004/05 Giuliano Grazioli Simon Clist Nicky Bailey Simon King Paul Fairclough
2005/06 Nicky Bailey Anthony Charles Nicky Bailey Nicky Bailey Dennis Signy
2006/07 Simon King Ismail Yakubu Jason Puncheon Joe Devera Ian Hendon
2007/08 Joe Devera Joe Devera Jason Puncheon Josh Wright John 'Village' Adkins
2008/09 John O'Flynn Nicky Deverdics Ashley Carew Albert Adomah Dick Rolfe
2009/10 Jake Cole Albert Jarret Paul Furlong Jake Hyde Rob Robertson
20010/10 Joe Devera Joe Devera Sam Deering Sam Deering Tony 'Reckless' Hammond

Homepage > About Barnet FC > Back To Top