Homepage > 0506 > Articles

Lester Finch Trophy

The Barnet FC Supporters Association has awarded this trophy annually since at least the mid-nineties.

It is awarded to someone in recognition of their services or contribution to the club. Unlike our other awards - such as the Player of the Year - the Lester Finch Trophy is chosen by the BFCSA committee.

Although players are perfectly eligible to be chosen this gives an opportunity to make an award to non-playing staff. Previous winners include: Tony Kleanthous (no introduction necessary); Steve Percy (nor he, but ex-chairman of the BFCSA); Janet Matthewson (nor she, but in recognition of her tireless work campaigning for the right to Barnet with the KBA); and Ron Sturgess (who many will know is the groundsman and reponsible for the velvet surface on which the team ply their trade).

There is a full list of winners on our awards page.

The winner is chosen in the early spring, just as the season is drawing to a close, with a view to awarding it at the end of the season, or perhaps at the AGM. This year the committee didn't really have to think very hard. We had - let's be honest - wiped the floor with the rest of the Nationwide Conference, so there really could only be one winner.

Step forward... PAUL FAIRCLOUGH!

Above is a photo of current BFCSA chairman, Mark Ashfield, presenting the trophy to Paul after our "1-1 slaughter" (Paul's words) against Bristol Rovers on 06 August.

We had hoped to present his trophy at our AGM in July, but this was postponed as it was on the same day as the first bombings in London - many of our members were not able to get there because of transport difficulties. So it was decided to present it after our opening game of the season.

You can see another Lester Finch Trophy winner in the background - one Kevin Mullen, Commercial Manager extrordinaire! I'm tempted to say, "everyone's a winner with the BFCSA," but I think that would be pushing it...

  Homepage > 0506 > Articles > Back To Top